Chaplin Museum

Corsier-sur-Vevey

Chaplin Museum
Chaplin Museum 2
Chaplin Museum 3
Chaplin Museum 4

A museum for Charlie Chaplin

Until his death on 25 December 1977, the Manoir de Ban in Corsier-sur-Vevey was home to the film legend Charlie Chaplin. It was there that the artist lived his "happy years", writing several screenplays and his memoirs. The "world" in which Chaplin lived in his Swiss exile consisted of a manor house, annexes and agricultural buildings.

An idea became reality

In 2000 the Swiss architect Philippe Meylan and the museum designer Yves Durand from Quebec developed the idea of transforming the Manoir de Ban into a museum showing the vast body of work of the productive artist. The close collaboration with the Chaplin family led to the architectural concept for the new museum and to the conception of the exhibition. A large-format new building - the museum as such - takes visitors into a self-contained film world in its own right. Chaplin's house remained as it was. Here, the public is confronted with the private life of the artist and his family. It was important to keep the house and the property as original as possible. The protected park was perfectly integrated into the 1,350 sqm museum tour and connects the various buildings and exhibition areas. A shop, restaurant and studios top off this unique museum.

Protection of historical monuments as a challenge for craftsmen

It was no easy task to turn the Manoir de Ban into a museum that pays tribute to the great creator, director and actor. The architects were confronted with the delicate task of harmonising the contemporary new building - the Hollywood Studio - with the existing buildings. The renovation of the listed buildings was challenging because the building fabric had to be preserved and numerous requirements had to be met. Numerous craftsmen meticulously restored the slate roof, replaced the sandstone door and window reveals, preserved the vaulted cellars and restored the building to its former colours. The environmental protection concept was also taken into account by making maximum use of endogenous and natural resources. Energy is produced using heat pumps coupled to geothermal probes. Solar radiation is used for sanitary hot water preparation.

"

Information

Client
DoMayne du Manoir de Ban SA, Corsier-sur-Vevey

Services rendered by HRS
Project developer and sole contractor with full cost, quality and deadline guarantee

Architect
Itten+Brechbühl SA, Lausanne

Land plot
132,858 sqm

Overall cost
CHF 30 million

Duration of construction
July 2014 – April 2015

Contact

HRS Real Estate SA
Rue du Centre 172
1025 St-Sulpice

+41 58 122 90 00
st-sulpice@hrs.ch

News

Other projects

Chaplin Museum

Corsier-sur-Vevey

Chaplin Museum
Chaplin Museum 2
Chaplin Museum 3
Chaplin Museum 4

Un musée pour Charlie Chaplin

Jusqu’à sa mort, le 25 décembre 1977, la légende du cinéma Charlie Chaplin a eu pour domicile le Manoir de Ban à Corsier-sur-Vevey. C’est là que l’artiste a vécu ses «années heureuses», écrit plusieurs scénarios et rédigé ses mémoires. L’univers de Chaplin durant son exil en Suisse était composé d’une maison de maître, de plusieurs dépendances et de bâtiments agricoles.

Une idée devenue réalité

En 2000, l’architecte suisse Philippe Meylan et le designer de musée québécois Yves Durant ont eu l’idée de transformer le Manoir de Ban en un musée consacré à l’œuvre immense de cet artiste exceptionnellement productif. L’étroite collaboration avec la famille Chaplin a permis d’élaborer le concept architectural de ce nouveau musée et d’imaginer la trame de l’exposition. Un nouvel édifice grand format – le musée même – plonge les visiteurs dans un univers cinématographique décalé hors du temps. La maison de Chaplin, elle, a été conservée dans son jus. Ici, le public découvre la vie privée de l’artiste et de sa famille. L’une des priorités était de préserver au maximum l’état original de la maison et de la propriété. Protégé, le parc a été parfaitement intégré au parcours muséographique d’une longueur de 1350 m² et relie entre eux les différents bâtiments et surfaces d’exposition. Un magasin, un restaurant et des ateliers complètent ce musée singulier.

La protection du patrimoine: un défi pour les artisans

Transformer le Manoir de Ban en musée tout en rendant l’hommage qui se doit au grand créateur, réalisateur et acteur n’a pas été chose facile. Les architectes étaient confrontés à une équation délicate, à savoir concevoir un nouvel édifice moderne – le Hollywood Studio – s’inscrivant en harmonie avec les bâtiments existants. La rénovation des bâtiments classés monuments historiques a été un véritable défi, car il fallait en conserver la substance tout en mettant en œuvre de nombreuses exigences réglementaires. C’est avec un soin méticuleux qu’une multitude d’artisans a restauré le toit en ardoise, remplacé les embrasures des portes et des fenêtres en grès, conservé les caves voûtées et redonné au bâtiment ses couleurs d’antan. La protection de l’environnement n’a pas non plus été laissée pour compte: le chantier a recouru à un maximum de ressources endogènes et naturelles. Ainsi, la production énergétique provient de pompes à chaleur couplées à des sondes géométriques, et les rayons du soleil sont utilisés pour l’eau chaude sanitaire.

Informations

Maître d’ouvrage
Domaine du Manoir de Ban SA, Corsier-sur-Vevey

Étendue des prestations de HRS
Développeur du projet et entreprise générale avec pleine garantie des coûts, de la qualité et des délais

Architecture
Itten+Brechbühl SA, Lausanne

Surface du terrain
132 858 m2

Coûts totaux
CHF 30 millions

Durée du chantier
De juillet 2014 à avril 2015

Contact

HRS Real Estate SA
Rue du Centre 172
1025 St-Sulpice

+41 58 122 90 00
st-sulpice@hrs.ch

Actualités

Autres projets