SwissTech Convention Center

Lausanne - Ecublens

Swisstech Lead
Swiss Tech Slide 2
Swiss Tech Slide 1
Swiss Tech Slider 3
Swisstech Slider 4

Bold and innovative from
financing to technology

The SwissTech Convention Center (STCC) is a conference and meeting centre for congresses, banquets, events, commercial use, services and gastronomy. But above all, it is a figurehead for technology, architectural audacity and innovative financing. It was opened in 2014 as one of the most contemporary and well-equipped congress centres in the world. A special feature is its high degree of modularity. The large auditorium can be transformed, as desired, from a 3000-seat plenary hall into a flat exhibition hall or a banquet hall thanks to its retractable seats.

Public-private financing partnership

The fact that the construction could be carried out at all was only thanks to an innovative financing model that took into account the costs for the entire life cycle of the construction project. Within the framework of a pubic-private partnership, the federal government, HRS Real Estate and two real estate funds of Credit Suisse AG assumed the entire contractor agreement of CHF 225 million. This amount included the construction of the entire Quartier Nord, a district of its own on the EPFL campus, featuring, in addition to the STCC, a building complex with tertiary businesses, student accommodation and a hotel.

World premier Grätzel façade

From a technological point of view, the STCC, which was designed by the architects Richter Dahl Roccha & Associés SA from Lausanne, is a pioneer project. It rests on pillars, some of which function as geothermal probes and are equipped with sensors that allow further developing this technology with huge energy-saving potential. Particulary noteworthy is the west façade equipped with special dye solar cells, which were developed by Prof Grätzel at the EPFL and have been integrated into a building of this size for the first time. Regardless of the angle of light penetration, they reproduce plant photosynthesis and generate "green" electricity. Simultaneously, they protect the building from direct sunlight and reduce energy consumption from air conditioning.

Information

Client
MEG Ecublens CCR, consisting of: Credit Suisse Real Estate Fund Hospitality /Credit Suisse Real Estate Fund LivingPlus (two Credit Suisse AG real estate funds), represented by: Credit Suisse AG Real Estate Asset Management, Zurich

Services rendered by HRS
PPP Project development HRS - EPFL, overall contractor with full cost, quality and deadline guarantee

Architect
Richter Dahl Rocha & Associés architectes SA, Lausanne

Plot size
14,164 sqm

Overall cost
CHF 225 million

Duration of construction
January 2011 - February 2014

Contact

HRS Real Estate SA
Rue du Centre 172
1025 St-Sulpice

+41 58 122 90 00
st-sulpice@hrs.ch

Other projects

SwissTech Convention Center

Lausanne - Ecublens

Swisstech Lead
Swiss Tech Slide 2
Swiss Tech Slide 1
Swiss Tech Slider 3
Swisstech Slider 4

Audace et innovation, du
financement à la technologie

Le SwissTech Convention Center (STCC) est le centre de conférence et de rencontre pour les congrès, les banquets, les manifestations, les utilisations professionnelles, les prestations de services et la restauration. Il s’agit avant tout également d’un porte-drapeau de la technologie, de l’audace architecturale et du financement innovant. Ce centre de congrès, l’un des plus modernes et mieux équipés au monde, a été inauguré en 2014. Sa modularité élevée constitue une particularité: grâce aux sièges librement inclinables de la salle plénière de 3000 places, les lieux peuvent être transformés en hall d’exposition ou en salle de banquet.

Partenariat public-privé pour le financement

La construction a été rendue possible grâce à un modèle de financement innovant prenant en compte les coûts pour l’ensemble du cycle de vie du projet de construction. Dans le cadre d’un partenariat public-privé, la Confédération et HRS Real Estate SA ont pris en charge l’ensemble du contrat d’entreprise total de 225 millions de francs avec deux fonds immobiliers de Credit Suisse SA. Ce montant comprenait la construction de l’ensemble du Quartier Nord, un propre quartier sur le campus de l’EPFL, qui en plus du STCC, regroupe un complexe de bâtiments avec des entreprises de services, des logements pour les étudiants ainsi qu’un hôtel.

Première mondiale pour la façade à technologie Grätzel

Conçu par le bureau d’architectes de Lausanne Richter Dahl Rocha & Associés architectes SA, le STCC est également un projet pionnier d’un point de vue architectural. Il repose sur des piliers qui fonctionnent en partie comme des sondes géothermiques et qui sont équipés de capteurs permettant de développer cette technologie avec un énorme potentiel en matière d’économies d’énergie. La façade ouest équipée de cellules solaires à colorant développées par le professeur Grätzel à l’EPFL est particulièrement remarquable. C’est la première fois que ces cellules sont intégrées à un bâtiment ayant de telles dimensions. Indépendamment de l’angle de la lumière, les cellules reproduisent la photosynthèse des plantes et produisent de l’électricité verte. Dans le même temps, elles protègent le bâtiment du rayonnement direct du soleil et diminuent la consommation énergétique pour la climatisation.

Informations

Maître d’ouvrage
MEG Ecublens CCR, qui est composé de: Credit Suisse Real Estate Fund Hospitality / Credit Suisse Real Estate Fund LivingPlus (deux fonds immobiliers de Credit Suisse SA), représentés par: Credit Suisse SA Real Estate Asset Management, Zurich

Étendue des prestations de HRS
Développement du projet PPP HRS - EPFL, entreprise générale avec garantie des coûts, des délais et de la qualité

Architecture
Richter Dahl Rocha & Associés architectes SA, Lausanne

Surface du terrain
14 164 m2

Coûts totaux
CHF 225 millions

Durée du chantier
De janvier 2011 à février 2014

Contact

HRS Real Estate SA
Rue du Centre 172
1025 St-Sulpice

+41 58 122 90 00
st-sulpice@hrs.ch

Autres projets