Tamedia

Zurich

Web Zürich Tamedia Foto5
Web Zürich Tamedia Foto1
Web Zürich Tamedia Foto2
Web Zürich Tamedia Foto3
Web Zürich Tamedia Foto4

Office building made of wood and glass

Tamedia moved into their first building on the Werdareal in the Aussersihl district of the city of Zurich in 1902. Over the years, the publishing house added to its stock of buildings. On Stauffacherquai (Quay), along the river Sihl, Tamedia now owns the whole side of one street. The newly-constructed seven-storey building was designed by the Japanese architect, Shigeru Ban, as it was the company's wish to unite workstations from various locations in the Werdareal district. In the new building, approximately 480 employees who work for the 20 Minuten newspaper, the Tages-Anzeiger newspaper and other media of the company have a qualitatively high standard workplace.
The building's construction is unusual. The multi-storey town house is a skeleton structure made of wood - not only the supports and beams, but also the connections at the joints. The spruce wood used is of very high quality and comes from contiguous woodland at an altitude of 1,000 metres above sea level. The generous glass façade provides a bright and friendly feeling of space.

Innovative wooden support structure

The preparatory work for the gigantic wooden construction took three years. For Tamedia, timber construction experts in Gossau milled 3,600 spruces to columns and beams using computers. In Zurich construction workers assembled this giant construction kit. No screws, nails or steel connectors were used, but beech bolts to stabilise the lattice-shaped wooden supporting structure. Cooperating with one of the most visionary architects in the world was also a challenging task. A concept had to be developed for fire protection that took the particular features of the building into account. To compensate for deviations from current rules, a wide range of measures were incorporated into the concept in consultation with the fire police, such as sprinkler protection, surveillance offices, stairways, corridors, technical rooms and the atrium in the lobby with a fire alarm system.

Information

Owner
Tamedia AG, Zurich

Services rendered by HRS
General contractor with full cost, quality and deadline guarantee. Overall project management from realisation phase onwards.

Architect
Planning: Shigeru Ban Architects Europe, Paris, detailed execution plan: Itten Brechbuhl AG, Zurich

Plot size
10,223 sqm

Total cost
CHF 62 million

Construction period
January 2011 – June 2013

Contact

HRS Real Estate AG
Siewerdtstrasse 8
8050 Zürich

+41 58 122 80 00
zuerich@hrs.ch

Other projects

Tamedia

Zurich

Web Zürich Tamedia Foto5
Web Zürich Tamedia Foto1
Web Zürich Tamedia Foto2
Web Zürich Tamedia Foto3
Web Zürich Tamedia Foto4

Un immeuble de bureaux en bois et en verre

Le premier immeuble de Tamedia a été acquis dans la Werdareal de Zurich, dans le quartier d’Aussersihl en 1902. Le portefeuille immobilier de l’éditeur s’est ensuite enrichi de nombreux édifices. Sur le Stauffacherquai, il inclut aujourd’hui tout une rue le long de la Sihl. La nouvelle construction à sept étages de l’architecte japonais Shigeru Ban est née du souhait de l’entreprise d’unir les postes de travail de différents sites sur la Werdareal. La nouvelle construction offre aux quelque 480 collaborateurs de 20 Minuten, du Tages-Anzeiger et d’autres médias de l’entreprise un lieu de travail de haute qualité.
La construction du bâtiment est exceptionnelle. Cette structure à plusieurs étages possède une ossature en bois – non seulement les poutres et piliers mais aussi les connexions dans les nœuds. L’épicéa utilisé est très précieux et provient d’un massif forestier situé 1000 mètres d’altitude. Une généreuse façade en verre procure une sensation claire et agréable d’espace.

Une structure porteuse innovante en bois

Les préparatifs de la gigantesque construction en bois ont duré trois ans. Pour Tamedia, des experts de la construction en bois venus de Gossau ont fraisé 3600 épicéas par ordinateur, les transformant en poutres et piliers. À Zurich, des ouvriers assemblent ces kits de construction géants. À cette occasion, aucun clou, vis ou raccord métallique n’a été utilisé, et des chevilles en hêtre stabilisent la structure porteuse en bois en forme de grille. La collaboration avec l’un des architectes les plus visionnaires au monde a elle aussi été une tâche exigeante. En matière de protection contre les incendies, un concept adapté aux particularités de l’immeuble devait être développé. Pour compenser les écarts par rapport aux règles d’usage, de nombreuses mesures ont été intégrées au concept, en accord avec les pompiers, telles qu’une protection totale au moyen de sprinklers, une surveillance des espaces de bureaux, des cages d’escalier, des couloirs, des salles techniques ainsi que de l’atrium dans le hall d’entrée au moyen de détecteurs d’incendie.

Informations

Maître d’ouvrage
Tamedia AG, Zurich

Étendue des prestations de HRS
Entreprise générale avec pleine garantie des coûts, de la qualité et des délais, à partir de la phase de réalisation: direction du projet global.

Architecture
Planification: Shigeru Ban Architects Europe, Paris Plan d’exécution: Itten + Brechbühl AG, Zurich

Surface d’étage
10 223 m2

Coûts totaux
CHF 62 millions

Durée du chantier
De janvier 2011 à juin 2013

Contact

HRS Real Estate AG
Siewerdtstrasse 8
8050 Zürich

+41 58 122 80 00
zuerich@hrs.ch

Autres projets