The Home of FIFA

Zurich

The Home Of Fifa
Fifa Home 2
Fifa Home 3
Fifa Home 4
Fifa Home

A new residence for the Beautiful Game

Behind the grounds of the Zurich Academic Sports Association, the Schweizerische Kreditanstalt – today's Credit Suisse - maintained its own staff sports facility with tennis courts and football pitches as well as a covered swimming pool. In 2003 the Fédération Internationale de Football Association (FIFA) was able to acquire this 44,000 sqm facility in order to build an operations centre for the 200 employees of the Football Association. The client chose HRS as the overall contractor in a competition, the decisive criteria being the guarantee of rapid submission of the building application and an extremely short construction period. HRS was able to start the building application procedure just three months after the acquisition of the site. As there were no objections, the project was approved within the shortest possible period of time. The building permit was granted in May 2004. The core of the building, completed in 2006, is the Exco-Room used for conferences of the FIFA Executive Committee. The auditorium above the foyer, the meditation or prayer room for five world religions with a walk-in shrine made of illuminated onyx and the office floors with a fully glazed window area are also worthy of a special mention. The home of FIFA is topped off by a sports and training centre as well as fitness and wellness oasis.

Short construction period - a real challenge

The short completion time required grouped planning and careful synchronisation of all the work to be done. For the six underground floors, a total of 200,000 cubic metres of material had to be removed in just three months. While the ground slab in the 164-metre long and 46-metre wide excavation pit had already been completed, the excavators on the other side were still clearing the ground. The complete floor slab was completed on 15 November 2004

Art in construction

James Turrell, the lighting artist assumed the task of designing a nocturnal light feature for the building. Every evening, the home of FIFA is bathed in a ray of changing, gradient colours with striking notes in the atriums. The goal of "an architecture with fantasy" has thus been achieved.

Information

Owner
FIFA - Fédération Internationale de FootballAssociation, Zurich

Services rendered by HRS
Sole contractor with full cost, quality and deadline guarantee

Architect
Tilla Theus and Partner AG, Zurich

Plot size
44,000 sqm

Total cost
CHF 200 million

Construction period
May 2004 – April 2006

Contact

HRS Real Estate AG
Siewerdtstrasse 8
8050 Zürich

+41 58 122 80 00
zuerich@hrs.ch

Other projects

The Home of FIFA

Zurich

The Home Of Fifa
Fifa Home 2
Fifa Home 3
Fifa Home 4
Fifa Home

Une nouvelle résidence pour le roi football

Derrière le site de l’Akademischen Sportverbands Zürich, le Schweizerische Kreditanstalt – l’actuel Credit Suisse – possédait des installations sportives propres destinées à son personnel, avec des terrains de tennis et de football ainsi qu’une piscine couverte. La Fédération Internationale de Football Association (FIFA) a pu acquérir en 2003 ce complexe sur un terrain de 44 000 mètres carrés pour y construire un centre d’exploitation destiné aux 200 employés de la fédération de football. Dans le cadre du processus d’appel d’offres, le maître d’ouvrage a choisi HRS en tant qu’entreprise générale. L’un des critères décisifs à cet égard était la garantie d’une demande de permis de construire rapide et d’une durée de construction très courte. HRS est parvenue à entamer le processus de demande de permis trois mois seulement après l’achat du terrain. Aucun recours n’a eu lieu, de telle sorte que le projet a été approuvé dans les meilleurs délais possibles. Le permis de construire a été obtenu en mai 2004. L’élément central de la construction achevée en 2006 est la salle Exco destinée aux conférences du comité exécutif de la FIFA. Il convient de mentionner en outre l’auditorium au-dessus du hall d’entrée, la salle de méditation ou de réflexion pour cinq religions du monde incluant un temple praticable en onyx éclairé et les étages de bureaux avec d’immenses fenêtres. Le foyer de la FIFA est complété par un centre de sport et de formation ainsi que par une oasis dédiée au fitness et au bien-être.

Un défi sous forme de délais serrés

Les délais de réalisation courts nécessitaient une planification groupée et une synchronisation minutieuse de tous les travaux. Les dimensions imposantes de l’immeuble représentaient un défi en elles seules. Pour les six sous-sols, un total de 200 000 mètres cubes de matériaux ont dû être évacués en trois mois. Tandis que les dalles de sol avaient déjà été bétonnées dans le cadre de l’excavation longue de 164 mètres et large de 46 mètres, la pelleteuse continuait de déblayer le sol de l’autre côté. Toutes les dalles de sol étaient déjà bétonnées au 15 novembre 2004.

Œuvres d’art

James Turrell, l’artiste réputé pour ses éclairages de bâtiments, s’est chargé de mettre en scène une dramaturgie lumineuse nocturne. Tous les soirs, le siège de la FIFA est donc plongé dans un bain de couleurs mélangées changeantes, une attention toute particulière étant portée aux cours intérieures. Ainsi l’objectif d’«architecture de l’imagination» est-il satisfait.

Informations

Maître d’ouvrage
FIFA - Fédération Internationale de Football Association, Zurich

Étendue des prestations de HRS
Entreprise générale avec pleine garantie des coûts, de la qualité et des délais.

Architecture
Tilla Theus und Partner AG, Zurich

Surface du terrain
44 000 2

Coûts totaux
CHF 200 millions

Durée du chantier
De mai 2004 à avril 2006

Contact

HRS Real Estate AG
Siewerdtstrasse 8
8050 Zürich

+41 58 122 80 00
zuerich@hrs.ch

Autres projets