Chaplin Museum

Corsier-sur-Vevey

Chaplin Museum
Chaplin Museum 2
Chaplin Museum 3
Chaplin Museum 4

A museum for Charlie Chaplin

Until his death on 25 December 1977, the Manoir de Ban in Corsier-sur-Vevey was home to the film legend Charlie Chaplin. It was there that the artist lived his "happy years", writing several screenplays and his memoirs. The "world" in which Chaplin lived in his Swiss exile consisted of a manor house, annexes and agricultural buildings.

An idea became reality

In 2000 the Swiss architect Philippe Meylan and the museum designer Yves Durand from Quebec developed the idea of transforming the Manoir de Ban into a museum showing the vast body of work of the productive artist. The close collaboration with the Chaplin family led to the architectural concept for the new museum and to the conception of the exhibition. A large-format new building - the museum as such - takes visitors into a self-contained film world in its own right. Chaplin's house remained as it was. Here, the public is confronted with the private life of the artist and his family. It was important to keep the house and the property as original as possible. The protected park was perfectly integrated into the 1,350 sqm museum tour and connects the various buildings and exhibition areas. A shop, restaurant and studios top off this unique museum.

Protection of historical monuments as a challenge for craftsmen

It was no easy task to turn the Manoir de Ban into a museum that pays tribute to the great creator, director and actor. The architects were confronted with the delicate task of harmonising the contemporary new building - the Hollywood Studio - with the existing buildings. The renovation of the listed buildings was challenging because the building fabric had to be preserved and numerous requirements had to be met. Numerous craftsmen meticulously restored the slate roof, replaced the sandstone door and window reveals, preserved the vaulted cellars and restored the building to its former colours. The environmental protection concept was also taken into account by making maximum use of endogenous and natural resources. Energy is produced using heat pumps coupled to geothermal probes. Solar radiation is used for sanitary hot water preparation.

"

Information

Client
DoMayne du Manoir de Ban SA, Corsier-sur-Vevey

Services rendered by HRS
Project developer and sole contractor with full cost, quality and deadline guarantee

Architect
Itten+Brechbühl SA, Lausanne

Land plot
132,858 sqm

Overall cost
CHF 30 million

Duration of construction
July 2014 – April 2015

Contact

HRS Real Estate SA
Rue du Centre 172
1025 St-Sulpice

+41 58 122 90 00
st-sulpice@hrs.ch

News

Other projects

Chaplin Museum

Corsier-sur-Vevey

Chaplin Museum
Chaplin Museum 2
Chaplin Museum 3
Chaplin Museum 4

Ein Museum für Charlie Chaplin

Bis zu seinem Tod am 25. Dezember 1977 war das Manoir de Ban in Corsier-sur-Vevey das Zuhause der Filmlegende Charlie Chaplin. Dort lebte der Künstler seine "glücklichen Jahre", schrieb mehrere Drehbücher und seine Memoiren. Die Welt, in der Chaplin in seinem Schweizer Exil lebte, bestand aus einem Herrschaftshaus, Dependancen und landwirtschaftlichen Gebäuden.

Aus einer Idee wurde Realität

Im Jahr 2000 entwickelten der Schweizer Architekt Philippe Meylan und der Museumsdesigner Yves Durand aus Quebec die Idee, das Manoir de Ban in ein Museum zu verwandeln, das das gigantische Werk des produktiven Künstlers zeigt. Die enge Zusammenarbeit mit der Familie Chaplin führte zum architektonischen Konzept für das neue Museum und zur Konzeption der Ausstellung. Ein grossformatiger Neubau – das eigentliche Museum – entführt die Besucher in eine eigene, in sich geschlossene Filmwelt. Das Wohnhaus Chaplins blieb erhalten, wie es war. Hier trifft das Publikum auf das Privatleben des Künstlers und seiner Familie. Es wurde Wert darauf gelegt, das Haus und das Anwesen möglichst im Ursprungszustand zu belassen. Der geschützte Park wurde perfekt in den 1350 Quadratmeter grossen Museumsrundgang integriert und verbindet die verschiedenen Gebäude und Ausstellungsflächen miteinander. Ein Laden, Restaurant und Ateliers komplettieren das einzigartige Museum.

Denkmalschutz als Herausforderung für Handwerker

Es war keine leichte Aufgabe, das Manoir de Ban in ein Museum zu verwandeln, das dem grossen Schöpfer, Regisseur und Schauspieler Tribut zollt. Die Architekten sahen sich mit der heiklen Aufgabe konfrontiert, den modernen Neubau – das Hollywood Studio – mit den bestehenden Gebäuden in Einklang zu bringen. Die Renovation der denkmalgeschützten Gebäude war herausfordernd, denn die Bausubstanz musste erhalten und zahlreiche Auflagen mussten umgesetzt werden. Mit akribischer Sorgfalt restaurierten die zahlreichen Handwerker das Schieferdach, ersetzten die Tür- und Fensterlaibungen aus Sandstein, bewahrten die Gewölbekeller und verliehen dem Gebäude wieder seine einstigen Farben. Auch dem Umweltschutzgedanken wurde entsprochen, indem die endogenen und natürlichen Ressourcen maximal ausgenützt werden. So erfolgt die Energieproduktion über Wärmepumpen, die an Erdsonden gekoppelt sind. Die Sonneneinstrahlung wird für die sanitäre Warmwasseraufbereitung genutzt.

Informationen

Bauherrschaft
Domaine du Manoir de Ban SA, Corsier-sur-Vevey

Leistungsumfang HRS
Projektentwicklerin und Totalunternehmerin mit der vollen Kosten-, Qualitäts- und Termingarantie

Architektur
Itten+Brechbühl SA, Lausanne

Grundsückfläche
132'858 m2

Gesamtkosten
CHF 30 Mio.

Bauzeit
Juli 2014 – April 2015

Kontakt

HRS Real Estate SA
Rue du Centre 172
1025 St-Sulpice

+41 58 122 90 00
st-sulpice@hrs.ch

News

Weitere Projekte