SwissTech Convention Center

Lausanne - Ecublens

Swisstech Lead
Swiss Tech Slide 2
Swiss Tech Slide 1
Swiss Tech Slider 3
Swisstech Slider 4

Bold and innovative from
financing to technology

The SwissTech Convention Center (STCC) is a conference and meeting centre for congresses, banquets, events, commercial use, services and gastronomy. But above all, it is a figurehead for technology, architectural audacity and innovative financing. It was opened in 2014 as one of the most contemporary and well-equipped congress centres in the world. A special feature is its high degree of modularity. The large auditorium can be transformed, as desired, from a 3000-seat plenary hall into a flat exhibition hall or a banquet hall thanks to its retractable seats.

Public-private financing partnership

The fact that the construction could be carried out at all was only thanks to an innovative financing model that took into account the costs for the entire life cycle of the construction project. Within the framework of a pubic-private partnership, the federal government, HRS Real Estate and two real estate funds of Credit Suisse AG assumed the entire contractor agreement of CHF 225 million. This amount included the construction of the entire Quartier Nord, a district of its own on the EPFL campus, featuring, in addition to the STCC, a building complex with tertiary businesses, student accommodation and a hotel.

World premier Grätzel façade

From a technological point of view, the STCC, which was designed by the architects Richter Dahl Roccha & Associés SA from Lausanne, is a pioneer project. It rests on pillars, some of which function as geothermal probes and are equipped with sensors that allow further developing this technology with huge energy-saving potential. Particulary noteworthy is the west façade equipped with special dye solar cells, which were developed by Prof Grätzel at the EPFL and have been integrated into a building of this size for the first time. Regardless of the angle of light penetration, they reproduce plant photosynthesis and generate "green" electricity. Simultaneously, they protect the building from direct sunlight and reduce energy consumption from air conditioning.

Information

Client
MEG Ecublens CCR, consisting of: Credit Suisse Real Estate Fund Hospitality /Credit Suisse Real Estate Fund LivingPlus (two Credit Suisse AG real estate funds), represented by: Credit Suisse AG Real Estate Asset Management, Zurich

Services rendered by HRS
PPP Project development HRS - EPFL, overall contractor with full cost, quality and deadline guarantee

Architect
Richter Dahl Rocha & Associés architectes SA, Lausanne

Plot size
14,164 sqm

Overall cost
CHF 225 million

Duration of construction
January 2011 - February 2014

Contact

HRS Real Estate SA
Rue du Centre 172
1025 St-Sulpice

+41 58 122 90 00
st-sulpice@hrs.ch

Other projects

SwissTech Convention Center

Lausanne - Ecublens

Swisstech Lead
Swiss Tech Slide 2
Swiss Tech Slide 1
Swiss Tech Slider 3
Swisstech Slider 4

Kühn und innovativ von der
Finanzierung bis zur Technologie

Das SwissTech Convention Center (STCC) ist ein Konferenz- und Begegnungszentrum für Kongresse, Bankette, Veranstaltungen, gewerbliche Nutzungen, Dienstleistungen und Gastronomie. Es ist aber vor allem auch ein Aushängeschild für Technologie, baulicher Kühnheit und innovativer Finanzierung. Im 2014 wurde es als eines der modernsten und bestausgestatteten Kongresszentren der Welt eröffnet. Eine Besonderheit ist seine hohe Modularität: Die grosse Aula kann dank versenkbarer Sitze nach Belieben vom Plenarsaal mit 3'000 Plätzen in eine ebene Ausstellungshalle oder einen Bankettsaal verwandelt werden.

Öffentlich-private Partnerschaft zur Finanzierung

Dass der Bau überhaupt realisiert werden konnte, war nur möglich dank einem innovativen Finanzierungsmodell, welches die Kosten für den gesamten Lebenszyklus des Bauprojektes berücksichtigte. Im Rahmen einer öffentlich-privaten Partnerschaft haben der Bund und HRS Real Estate AG zusammen mit zwei Immobilienfonds der Credit Suisse AG den gesamten Totalunternehmervertrag von 225 Millionen Franken übernommen. Dieser Betrag beinhaltete den Bau des gesamten Quartier Nord, ein eigenes Viertel auf dem EPFL-Campus, das neben dem STCC einen Gebäudekomplex mit Dienstleistungsbetrieben, Studentenunterkünften sowie einem Hotel umfasst.

Weltpremiere Grätzel-Fassade

Das vom Lausanner Architekturbüro Richter Dahl Rocha & Associés architectes SA entworfene STCC ist auch aus technologischer Sicht ein Pionierprojekt. Es ruht auf Pfeilern, die teilweise als geothermische Sonden funktionieren und mit Sensoren ausgestattet sind, die es ermöglichen, diese Technologie mit enormem Energiesparpotenzial weiter zu entwickeln. Besonders hervorzuheben ist die mit besonderen Farbstoffsolarzellen ausgestattete Westfassade, die von Prof. Grätzel an der EPFL entwickelt und - in dieser Grössenordnung zum ersten Mal - in ein Gebäude integriert wurden. Unabhängig vom Lichteinfallswinkel reproduzieren sie die pflanzliche Photosynthese und produzieren grünen Strom. Gleichzeitig schützen sie das Gebäude vor direkter Sonneneinstrahlung und verringern den Energieverbrauch für die Klimatisierung.

Informationen

Bauherrschaft
MEG Ecublens CCR, bestehend aus: Credit Suisse Real Estate Fund Hospitality / Credit Suisse Real Estate Fund LivingPlus (zwei Immobilienfonds der Credit Suisse AG), vertreten durch: Credit Suisse AG Real Estate Asset Management, Zürich

Leistungsumfang HRS
PPP-Projektentwicklung HRS - EPFL, Totalunternehmer mit der vollen Kosten-, Qualitäts- und Termingarantie

Architektur
Richter · Dahl Rocha & Associés architectes SA, Lausanne

Grundstücksfläche
14'164 m2

Gesamtkosten
CHF 225 Mio.

Bauzeit
Januar 2011 - Februar 2014

Kontakt

HRS Real Estate SA
Rue du Centre 172
1025 St-Sulpice

+41 58 122 90 00
st-sulpice@hrs.ch

Weitere Projekte